Nedbank Cup Finalists Confirmed


The two teams who will compete in the Nedbank Cup final set to take place at the iconic Loftus Versfeld Stadium have been confirmed: Orlando Pirates will play host to Sekhukhune United.


The draw to decide which team will take the home change room at Loftus Versfeld took place after the conclusion of the semi-final fixture between Stellenbosch FC and Sekhukhune United on Sunday night, 7 May 2023.


Orlando Pirates was the first team to progress to the final after Jose Riveiro’s men claimed a 2-1 win over Kaizer Chiefs in extra time at the sold-out Soweto Derby encounter.


In the second semi-final, Stellenbosch FC and Sekhukhune United played out to a goalless draw after 120 minutes. It was Sekhukhune United who advanced to the final of South Africa’s leading knockout football competition, winning 4-3 in the penalty shootout.


Khensani Nobanda, Group Executive of Marketing and Corporate Affairs at Nedbank, says: “We have been spoiled with some exceptional knockout football throughout this Nedbank Cup season. Not only is this cup competition the most entertaining, but it also truly demonstrates how a small decision can have a major impact on our lives both on and off the field of play.


“We look forward to crowning the 16th Nedbank Cup champions on 27 May 2023 at what we anticipate will be another thrilling affair at Loftus Versfeld Stadium.”


Ticketing and entertainment information on the Nedbank Cup final will be shared in due course.


Learn more and stay up to date with all Nedbank Cup activities by visiting the Nedbank Cup website or following @NedbankSport on Twitter.


About the Nedbank Cup:


  • The Nedbank Cup is South Africa’s leading knockout football competition and the year 2023 marks 16 years of the partnership between Nedbank and the Premier Soccer League (PSL).
  • Nicknamed the Ke Yona Cup, with 'ke yona' meaning 'the one', the Nedbank Cup is the sole knockout competition of its kind in South Africa and contributes to the development of domestic soccer by providing amateur teams with an opportunity to compete against top-tier teams.
  • The Nedbank Cup provides a platform for teams from emerging leagues to compete with PSL clubs for the prestigious trophy and to gain qualification into Africa’s grandest football tournament through the CAF Confederations Cup.
  • The current format sees the 16 Premier Soccer League clubs – eight National First Division teams and eight teams from the amateur ranks – enter the main draw of 32 teams.
  • The Nedbank Cup has a proud record of being the most lucrative cup competition: Over R20 million is up for grabs in overall prize money with the winner guaranteed R7 million, while all lower league teams that have qualified for the main draw will receive R100 000.



Nedbank Cup Winners (2008–2021)





Mamelodi Sundowns


Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila (TTM)


Mamelodi Sundowns


TS Galaxy


Free State Stars


SuperSport United


SuperSport United


Mamelodi Sundowns


Orlando Pirates


Kaizer Chiefs


SuperSport United


Orlando Pirates


Bidvest Wits


Moroka Swallows


Mamelodi Sundowns is an award-winning Digital Media, Marketing, and Advertising Company est. 2015, is a Member of the Independent Media Association of South Africa (IMASA), and Brand South Africa's Play Your Part Ambassadors, with a global reach of over 10 million

E-mail to take your brand/business to the next level

Like What You've Read ? Be an Anonymous Angel 
CLICK HERE for the latest Tech News
CLICK HERE for the latest News & Trends
Follow @letstorqueza
Keep up to date with all that is happening in South Africa
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow @ilovezacom on
 #iloveza❤️🇿🇦 #AfterFajrGrind Accolades:

2021 Winner of Brand South Africa's Nation Pride Play Your Part Award

2018 Winner of Tech Savvy Boss Award at the Roshgold Young Business Achiever Award

Nabihah Plaatjes Accolades:

2023 CEO of the Independent Media Association of South Africa (IMASA)

2018 Contributing Author to SAFFRON: A Collection of Personal Narratives

2017 Recipient of Owami Women & Brand South Africa's Play Your Part Award

Ziyaad Plaatjes Accolades:

2021 Mail & Guardian Top 200 Young South Africans: Arts, Entertainment, Film & Media 

2020 Contributing Author to There's a Story in Everyone

Trending Posts