The SAGMJ Annual General Meeting was held on Saturday, 8 August 2020 after multiple delays due to the South African Pandemic Lockdown. The Guild extends thanks to all the members that actively participated by attending the meeting, voted by proxy or watched the livestream of the AGM.

Fellow, Full and Voting Associate members in good standing with the Guild were required to vote on a variety of issues including 6 Motions relating to Constitutional amendments, as well as Committee and Fellow nominations. Formal minutes of the AGM will be circulated as promptly as possible. In the interim we would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the following members on their appointments.

As per the SAGMJ Constitution upon retirement the Chairman, Rubin van Niekerk, became the President of the Guild and he will hold office until replaced by the next retiring Chairman.

We have the immense pleasure in announcing that the SAGMJ has inducted its first Honorary Lifetime President - Roger McCleery. Although there are many worthy candidates Roger has been a pillar of strength, actively involved with the committee, COTY and numerous other Guild projects over the last few extremely challenging years.

The election of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman was a real nail-biter as Carl and Dirk were both formidable candidates!

Chairman (EXCO)

Carl Wepener

Vice-Chairman (EXCO)

Dirk Gallowitz

Treasurer (EXCO)

Graham Erasmus


The following Committee Member has completed his first year and did not have to be re-elected and retains his seat on the Committee:

Honorary Secretary (EXCO)

Vivien Natasen


The general committee members are (in alphabetical order):

Alan Rosenmeyer

Jason Woosey

Khulekani Dumisa

Lawrence Smith

Michelle York


The SAGMJ annually recognises people who have dynamically demonstrated an exceptional and enduring interest in motoring journalism either in furthering some of the aims of the Guild, or in other ways.  This highest recognition can be demonstrated by declaring such persons as Fellows of the Guild. We congratulate and welcome the following Fellow:

Graham Eagle


The feedback from members who joined us at the AGM has been extremely positive regarding the stellar work done in the last year by the EXCO and the committee. The Guild will be in contact on an ongoing basis regarding points discussed at the meeting.

We welcome all members of the SAGMJ to become more involved and encourage members to comment, send us ideas and or even news that is relevant and interesting.

We would like to thank all our members for their continued support.

Trending Posts