Toyota Gazoo Racing South Africa Triumphs at Safari 1000



TOYOTA GAZOO Racing South Africa (TGRSA) has delivered an outstanding performance at the TGRSA Safari 1000, the third round of the 2024 South African Rally-Raid Championship (SARRC), held from 21-23 June in the Thabazimbi area of the Limpopo Province.


The event, which replaced the TGRSA 1000 Desert Race, provided a true test of endurance with its extreme distance and three-day race format.

Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings dominated the race from start to finish, securing victory with a final time of 12hr 17min 39sec. They posted the fastest time in the 14-kilometre Castrol Qualifying Race and maintained their lead throughout the stages, showcasing exceptional skill and resilience. By the end of the race, they had built a significant time gap over their nearest competitor.

Saood Variawa and Francois Cazalet displayed good pace while running, but their race was cut short on Saturday when they broke the suspension of their car after hitting a ditch in a fast section of the route. The thick dust made visibility difficult, leading to the incident. Unfortunately, they were unable to re-start the race on Sunday.

Guy Botterill and Dennis Murphy initially performed extremely well, but a technical problem with the throttle body on their car forced them to stop. They struggled to get going again but eventually completed Saturday's stages, finishing in 20th position. On Sunday, they restarted and drove a solid race, providing assistance to their teammates Giniel de Villiers and Elvéne Vonk when needed.

Giniel de Villiers and Elvéne Vonk were in a solid position starting the final day, running in third place for most of Sunday. However, a broken bolt on the lower control arm of their car caused technical challenges. With the assistance of Guy and Dennis, they managed to complete the race, finishing in 14th place overall.


TGRSA Team Principal Shameer Variawa commented,

"We are thrilled with the victory achieved by Henk and Brett. Despite the challenges faced by our other crews, the team's determination and teamwork shone through. We're proud of the effort put in by everyone."


Toyota was also awarded the Manufacturer Award thanks to strong performances by some of the privateers who campaign Toyotas in the SARRC, further solidifying the brand's reputation for reliability and performance.

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing South Africa remains committed to excellence and looks forward to continuing their success in the upcoming rounds of the championship. The next event on the SARRC calendar is a double-header, taking place in Parys from 16-17 August 2024. This event promises challenging terrain and greater complexity, thanks to the double-header structure of the weekend, adding excitement and unpredictability to the championship.


Final Standings for the TGRSA Safari 1000:





Final Time / Gap


Henk Lategan

Brett Cummings

Toyota Hilux IMT EVO



Lance Woolridge

Kenneth Gilbert

Ford NWM Ranger T1+



Brian Baragwanath

Leonard Cremer

Century Racing CR7



Gareth Woolridge

Boyd Dreyer

Ford NWM Ranger T1+



Fouché Blignaut

Bertus Blignaut

Toyota DKR Hilux T1+



Eben Basson

Leander Pienaar

Toyota Hilux



Johan Horn

Werner Horn

Toyota DKR Hilux T1+



Wors Prinsloo

Andre Vermeulen

Ford NWM Ranger T1+



Rudi Heinlein

Gerhard Heinlein

Red-Lined VK56 Evo 2



Johan van Staden

Sean van Staden

Renault Duster



Giniel de Villiers

Elvéne Vonk

Toyota Hilux IMT EVO



Guy Botterill

Dennis Murphy

Toyota Hilux IMT EVO

+9:05:01 is an award-winning Digital Media, Marketing, and Advertising Company est. 2015, is a Member of the Independent Media Association of South Africa (IMASA), and Brand South Africa's Play Your Part Ambassadors, with a global reach of over 10 million

E-mail to take your brand/business to the next level

Like What You've Read ? Be an Anonymous Angel 
CLICK HERE for the latest Tech News
CLICK HERE for the latest News & Trends
Follow @letstorqueza
Keep up to date with all that is happening in South Africa
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow @ilovezacom on
 #iloveza❤️🇿🇦 #AfterFajrGrind Accolades:

2021 Winner of Brand South Africa's Nation Pride Play Your Part Award

2018 Winner of Tech Savvy Boss Award at the Roshgold Young Business Achiever Award

Nabihah Plaatjes Accolades:

2023 CEO of the Independent Media Association of South Africa (IMASA)

2018 Contributing Author to SAFFRON: A Collection of Personal Narratives

2017 Recipient of Owami Women & Brand South Africa's Play Your Part Award

Ziyaad Plaatjes Accolades:

2021 Mail & Guardian Top 200 Young South Africans: Arts, Entertainment, Film & Media 

2020 Contributing Author to There's a Story in Everyone