The Currency

The Official Currency of South Africa is the Rand.

The symbol for the Rand is "R".

The iso 4217 code is "ZAR" from the Dutch, Zuid-Afrikaanse Rand.

A Rand is subdivided into 100 cents, with the symbol "c".

South African coins consist of: 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, R1, R2, and R5.

South African Bank Notes consist of: R10, R20, R50, R100, and R200.

Each bank note has a picture of Nelson Mandela on the front and a picture of one of the big five at the back.